Custom Painting ….. The Cyclone in Coney Island, NYC.

Posted: June 5, 2012 in Art Work
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I love this piece and I loved creating it.  I was just a boy when visiting my father in NYC and he took my sister and I to Coney Island.  I had to create a piece to honor this rusty, rickety, spine jerking ride.  Ever been on it before?

Let me know if you want me to make something for you or your business…    Email:  reinaldoferrer@gmail.com

Acrylic & Spray Paint

Comments
  1. I really like this piece. It elicits a strong sense of nostalgia that is bitter-sweet in tone – like reflecting on a memory of a time when life was hard, but still had its good moments.

  2. Coney Island is a really amazing place with some fascinating subjects. This is a really cool piece. I hope you’ll do some more artwork inspired by the area.

  3. one11twelve says:

    Awesome Piece! I used to ride this 4-5-6 times in a row every time I was in C.I. Good Memories! Thanks

  4. Just found you. Interested in your process. Do you create a stencil or are you free-handing these? How big is this piece?

  5. Gardner's World says:

    I like the moody sky – adds to the sense of forboding you get thinking about going on a coaster

  6. I used to live a few blocks from this! Nice job : )

  7. jzrart says:

    I have indeed ridden the cyclone several time when I was kid. Oh, the memories. Nice work.

  8. Heather says:

    Love this piece–such a great perspective on the Cyclone. I also rode it when I was a teenager and was appalled at how it seemed like I could fly right out of the car!

  9. RDoug says:

    I do believe that this is my favorite of your pieces so far, although I really like The Smoking Lady and People Watcher as well.

    Good work. Love the monochrome look.

  10. j3ssi33ss3x says:

    Reblogged this on The Three G's.

  11. ltownsdin says:

    Your art is great. I’ll be checking the site often.

  12. Storypiece says:

    Wow… your art is amazing!! I think this is one of my favorites.

  13. Jade M. Wong says:

    This painting is one of my favorites out of the ones I’ve browsed through here so far. Just like “irvoneil” said, this piece captures so brilliantly the mysterious and foreboding vibe of the Cyclone. You are truly very talented!

  14. 1812 says:

    Very cool piece!

  15. irvoneil says:

    I like your Cyclone piece, very cool! Interesting edgy mood and it definitely captures the vertiginous mystique of that wild ride, which is definitely jarring on a person’s body!

    Good luck with your work.

  16. I really like this piece and the vintage feel of it all the best to you with your work!

  17. Joni says:

    I am intrigued by your art and the technique you use to achieve it…very interesting images!

  18. peachyteachy says:

    This is beautiful. Loving the retro/vintage feel of your work. Thanks for liking my blog.

  19. Back in the day I rode the Cyclone two times – back to back. I will never do that again! Great artwork.

  20. zaheromareen says:

    Reblogged this on Zaher Omareen Blog and commented:
    Peaceful time stencil ..

  21. GrayFoxDown says:

    Love this. Coney Island and my childhood are forever inseparable; the Cyclone, in particular, playing such an instrumental part in my life’s frenzied mode of “ups and downs.” Thanks!

Leave a Reply

